Support Us

Measuring Development 2020: Data Integration and Data Fusion

Thank you for joining us for a virtual conference, Measuring Development: Data Integration and Data Fusion, hosted by CEGA and the World Bank. The event will held on Tuesday, March 31st, 2020 from 9 am – 3 pm PT / 12 pm – 6 pm ET.

Please join us using the following Zoom link:
https://berkeley.zoom.us/meeting/register/uJQrdu6trjMr5MoCWbBvsV7FuN7ErWgeog

Registered attendees have received a password via email to access the Zoom room. If you need the password, please email Sam Fishman at sfishman@berkeley.edu

Please ensure you are muted during the conference unless called on to ask a question. We encourage participants to turn on throughout the day. During the talks, you can ask questions in the chat box and the moderator will call on you to unmute yourself and ask your question to the speaker during the Q&As. We will circulate a contact list after the event and encourage you to reach out to speakers and fellow participants where there is overlapping interest. 

 

Opening Remarks: Arianna Legovini (Head, Development Impact Evaluation, World Bank)

9:00 – 9:20am PT / 12:00 – 12:20pm ET

 

Panel 1: Responding to COVID-19

9:20 – 10:20am PT / 12:20 – 1:20pm ET

Sveta Milusheva (World Bank)
Combining mobile phone data with health surveillance data to understand the spread of disease. 

Marelize Gorgens (World Bank)
Data and digital solutions to inform COVID response planning and implementation

Emmanuel Letouzé (Data-Pop Alliance)
(TBD)

 

Panel 2: Text and Mobile Data

10:25am – 12:05pm PT / 1:25 – 3:05pm ET

Sylvan Herskowitz (International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI))
How do firms respond to insecurity: Evidence from Afghan corporate phone records

Emily Aiken (UC Berkeley)
Targeting humanitarian aid with machine learning and mobile phone data: Evidence from an anti-poverty program in Afghanistan

Xavier Espinet Alegre (World Bank)
Using Network Science and CDR’s to evaluate access to critical facilities in Freetown, Sierra Leone

Daniel Chen (Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS))
Using patterns in judicial data to identify bias in decision making

Robert Marty (DIME) 
Can crowdsourcing create the missing crash data? Addressing road safety in data poor environments

Keynote Address: Joshua Blumenstock (UC Berkeley): “Manipulation-Proof Machine Learning”

12:05 – 12:50pm PT / 3:05 – 3:50pm ET

 

Panel 3: Satellite Data

12:55 – 2:15pm PT / 3:55 – 5:15pm ET

Hannah Kerner (University of Maryland)
Monitoring agriculture at the field scale using satellite data and machine learning

David Newhouse (World Bank)
Small area estimates of non-monetary poverty with big data

Jonathan Proctor (Harvard Data Science Initiative)
A generalizable and accessible approach to machine learning with global satellite imagery

Emanuele Strano (MindEarth)
TBD

 

Lightning Talks: New Tools for Data Integration and Data Fusion

2:20 – 3:00pm PT / 5:20 – 6:00pm ET

Sam Asher (Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS))
Universal high-resolution open access data on India (SHRUG)

Yale Cong (Google)
Google Dataset Search: Facilitating data discovery in an open ecosystem

Walter Kerr (Zenysis)
Coordinating an emergency response with integrated data

Tara O’Shea (Planet)
Data fusion for forest carbon: Monitoring stocks and emissions from space

Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved

Design & Dev by Wonderland Collective