Subscribe to E-Bulletin Donate to CEGA

Working Group in African Political Economy (WGAPE) Fall 2010


The Working Group in African Political Economy (WGAPE - pronounced "wah-gah-pay") brings together faculty and advanced graduate students in Economics and Political Science who combine field research experience in Africa with training in political economy methods. Since 2002, the group has met semi-annually to discuss the work-in-progress of its core members and invited guests. It is co-led by Daniel Posner (Department of Political Science, MIT) and Edward Miguel (Department of Economics, UC Berkeley).

Event Photos

Date and Time

Dec 17, 2010 12:00pm — Dec 18, 2010 1:30pm


Seaborg Room
University of California, Berkeley


Friday, December 17  
12 noon - 1 pm Lunch in the Seaborg Room, Faculty Club
1:00 - 2:00 pm Katherine Casey, Brown University
2:00 - 3:00 pm Ted Miguel, UC Berkeley
3:00 - 3:30 pm Coffee Break
3:30 - 4:30 pm Lisa Mueller, UCLA
4:30 - 5:30 pm Isaias Chaves, Stanford University
6:15 - 8:00 pm Dinner
Saturday, December 18  
8:30 - 9:00 am Breakfast in the Seaborg Room, Faculty Club
9:00 - 10:00 am Willa Friedman, UC Berkeley
10:00 - 11:00 am Nicholai Lidow, Stanford University
11:00 - 11:30 am Coffee Break
11:30 - 12:30 pm Melina Raquel Platas, Stanford University
12:30 - 1:30 pm Karen Ferree & Brigitte Zimmerman, UCSD


Edward Miguel (UC Berkeley)


Joshua Blumenstock (UC Berkeley)
Ruth Carlitz (UCLA)
Liz Carlson (Stanford)
Kate Casey (Brown)
Isaias Chaves (Stanford)
Lisa Chen (UC Berkeley)
Andre Comandon (UCLA)
Nathan Combes (UCSD)
Jean Ensminger (Cal Tech)
Lauren Falcao (UC Berkeley)
Karen Ferree (UCSD)
Willa Friedman (UC Berkeley)
Clark Gibson (UCSD)
Matthew Gichohi (UC Berkeley)
Jessica Gottlieb (Stanford)
Mary Kay Gugerty (University of Washington)
Chelsea Johnson (UC Berkeley)
Michael Kevane (Santa Clara University)
Risa Kitagawa (Stanford)
Eric Kramon (UCLA)
Nicholai Lidow (Stanford)
Jamie McCasland (UC Berkeley)
Ted Miguel (UC Berkeley)
Lisa Mueller (UCLA)
Nicholas Obradovich (UCSD)
Kennedy Opalo (UC Berkeley)
Maya Oren (UCSD)
Melina Platas (Stanford)
Dan Posner (UCLA)
Amanda Robinson (Stanford)
Mark Rosenberg (UC Berkeley)
Eva Vivalt (UC Berkeley)
Kelly Zhang (Stanford)
Brigitte Zimmerman (UCSD)