Subscribe to E-Bulletin Donate to CEGA

Working Group in African Political Economy (WGAPE) Fall 2009


The Working Group in African Political Economy (WGAPE - pronounced "wah-gah-pay") brings together faculty and advanced graduate students in Economics and Political Science who combine field research experience in Africa with training in political economy methods. Since 2002, the group has met semi-annually to discuss the work-in-progress of its core members and invited guests. It is co-led by Daniel Posner (Department of Political Science, MIT) and Edward Miguel (Department of Economics, UC Berkeley).

Date and Time

Dec 11, 2009 5:30pm — Dec 12, 2009 1:30pm


Evans Hall; Seaborg Room, Faculty Club


Friday Dec 11
12 noon - 1 pm
1:00 - 2:00 pm
2:00 - 3:00 pm
3:00 - 3:30 pm
3:30 - 4:30 pm
4:30 - 5:30 pm
6:15 - 8:00 pm 

Saturday Dec 12
8:30 - 9:00 am
9:00 - 10:00 am
10:00 - 11:00 am
11:00 - 11:30 am
11:30 - 12:30 pm
12:30 - 1:30 pm

Lunch in 639 Evans Hall
Amanda Robinson, Stanford University
Eric Kramon, UCLA
Coffee Break
Alexander Lee, Stanford University
Danielle Jung, UCSD
Dinner at Henry's

Breakfast in the Seaborg Room, Faculty Club
Jeremy Horowitz, UCSD 
Jonas Hjort, UC Berkeley
Coffee Break 
Claire Adida, Stanford University
Clark Gibson, UCSD


Edward Miguel (UC Berkeley)


The Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA)


Claire Adida (Stanford University), Dan Berger (Cal Tech), Nicole Bonoff (UCSD), Jennifer Brass (UC Berkeley), Ruth Carlitz (UCLA), Kim Dionne (UCLA), Jean Ensminger (Cal Tech), Lauren Falcao (UC Berkeley), Karen Ferree (UCSD), Willa Friedman (UC Berkeley), Francois Gerard (UC Berkeley), Clark Gibson (UCSD), Matthew Gichohi (UC Berkeley), Jessica Gottlieb (Stanford University), Nyema Guannu (Claremont), Mary Kay Gugerty (University of Washington), Jonas Hjort (UC Berkeley), Jeremy Horowitz (UCSD), Pam Jakiela (Washington University in St. Louis), Chelsea Johnson (UC Berkeley), Martha Johnson (UC Berkeley), Danielle Jung (UCSD), Sarah Knoesen (UCSD), Eric Kramon (UCLA), John McCauley (UCLA), Kennedy O. Opalo (Stanford University), Owen Ozier (UC Berkeley), Caryn Peiffer (Claremont), Melinda Platas (Stanford University), Daniel Posner (UCLA), Amanda Robinson (Stanford University), Eva Vivalt (UC Berkeley), Laura Weinstein (UCLA), Brigitte Zimmerman (UCSD)